Oh Geez! You’re So Short!

549242_416146248395541_768539613_n

Are you petite? Do you wish you were a little taller? Petites are short women who are usually less than 5’4’’.

Here are  my petite moments in elementary and high school years. Can you relate with me?

  • I was always second in the line during the flag raising ceremony at school. You know, line up by height systems. Thank heavens I wasn’t the smallest (if that would lift my soul a bit! Hahaha).
  • I was always on the front line during dance, singing performances, and the likes. Wasn’t that good for an exposure?
  • I was seated in front – too close to the board and to my teacher’s table. Poor me. I should not be caught talking with my classmates.

Oh! Am I ever going to grow? I was really bothered by my height, comparing myself to taller, long-legged girls everytime. Why were my girl cousins tall? There was even a point in my life where I questioned my mother and blamed her for not letting me take food and pills that would make me grow taller. Will I ever grow? I only feel better and loved myself more when I finally found out my security and significance – not in my height nor in my appearance – but in the identity I have in Christ.

All right, it’s kind of embarrassing when a ten year old kid is towering over me. Plus, it annoys me that I need to be on a tip toe or worst a chair when I try to get something on a high shelf.

But yes, it’s all about acceptance. Why obsess over something you can’t change?

I love my height now. I know that I’m vertically challenged for a reason. I am always mistaken for being five years younger. Jeepney drivers even asked me if I’m still a student! That’s very flattering! A pair of heels or wedge can add a few inches so I really never mind my height now. I am grateful I am petite.

By the way, here are petite girls who stand out in Hollywood:

1. Dolly Parton

2. Eva Longoria

3. Kylie Minogue

4. Salma Hayek

5. Vanessa Hudgens

6. Hillary Duff

7. Kim Kardashian

8. Mila Kunis

9. Reese Witherspoon

10. Mary Kate Olsen

I’m not saying that petites can be Hollywood starts or whatever. What I’m trying to say is that height doesn’t matter.  Unless in basketball or in modeling.

Smile. Love yourself and the world will love you back. Good things come in small packages, they say. Use your being petite to your advantage.

Leave a Reply

