Encounter with the Wild: Davao City Crocodile Farm

My First Visit

I first visited Davao City when I was in my second year in college. That was 2006.  Thanks to our Biology 104 – Biodiversity Class Field Trip. It was such an incredible experience.

What I couldn’t forget was climbing Mt. Marilog, looking for distinct and unfamiliar plant species we could study and identify??? Oops! As far as I could remember, it was just like climbing the hilly slopes and roaming around the  verdant forest! LOL. It was raining then so the mountains were slippery and muddy.

 Image

My Davao Journey

It wasn’t a dream that I would one day visit Davao City again. Not just visit – but live. Yes, two years after I finished college, my sister who happens to work here, brought me along in one of her visits. That was the start of my Davao City journey.

As its motto says’ LIFE IS HERE.’. Indeed, my life is here.I have been in the city for almost 3 years now and I could say I love it here. The scenic landscapes, the nearby beaches, the culture and the honest people, everything in Davao is lovable.

Calling All Nature and Wildlife Lovers…

One of the most interesting destinations for nature lovers and thrill-seekers like me is the Davao Crocodile Crocodile Farm.

Image

A Davao City vacation isn’t complete without visiting Davao Crocodile Farm. It is located at the Riverfront Corporate City along Carlos P. Garcia Highway, Ma-a, about 15 to 30 minutes from downtown of the City.

Image

This wildlife preserved not just for crocodiles but for other wild creatures which include raptors, monkeys, bearcats, snakes, and birds. The moment you enter the park, you’ll be greeted with colorful parrots, peacock, and other kinds of birds as well as various plant species.

ImageImageImage

Image

What I love about here is that you can experience a close animal encounter with Pangil, country’s second largest crocodile at 18 feet long. The Pangil Encounter is where caretakers probe the crocodile with a stick for him to move and kick its tail and yes,splashing water to its spectators. Get ready to get wet or better yet bring extra clothes if you want to encounter Pangil at its worst!

Snake shows? Oh yeah! Holding a snake was also one my best experiences here. And yes, I was able to touch a cub’s fur. LOL. That was way too scary man!

Image

And yes, the tightrope walker and stunts?  Imagine yourself seeing a professional stuntman walking through the rope, even do tricks, with the crocodile’s big mouth waiting for him in case he’ll fall down? This is crazy.

The complex also has souvenir shops, art galleries, food stalls, and restaurants. Crocodile ice cream? Yeah, they’re available.

Image

The park is open from Monday to Sunday and entrance fees are collected, Php 150 for adults and Php75 for kids.

Davao Crocodile Park Show Schedule

(Reference: http://www.davaocrocodilepark.com)

Monday to Sunday

9:00 AM -11:00 AM – Animal Petting (Reptiles and Raptors)

3:00 PM – 5:00 PM – Animal Petting (Reptiles and Mammals)

Friday to Sunday : Animal Shows (PM)

3:15 – 3:30 – Crocodile Dancing

3:30 – 4:00 – Tightrope Walker and Stunts

4:00 – 4:30 – Pangil Encounter

4:30 – 4:45 – Crocodile Frenzy

4:45 – 5:00 – Crocodile Feeding

Leave a Reply

