How I Slow Down When the Demands of Work Are Overwhelming

We live in a fast-paced world and we sometimes do not realize the stress and burdens the business of modern day life demands. We forget to find ways to slow down and relax, to chill and take a break. Most (if not all) of the time, they took a toll on your health.

How do you slow down when you’re overwhelmed with the demands of your work?

The ocean is one of the most beautiful things on earth. I could look at it for hours, from the sandy beach or from a hilltop. Watching the blue horizon, listening to the wind breeze and the sound of the waves calm my soul (aside from ice cream, of course! hahaha). But aside from oceans, clouds also fascinate me. I don’t know why but they have this kind of magic that makes me feel so at peace every time I look at them, especially when they move and change their shapes and forms.

When I was younger, every time we had had the Easter Service at dawn, I always found myself looking at the clouds wondering if Jesus would suddenly come out of the clouds. Revelation 1:7a says, “Behold, He is coming with clouds, and every eye will see Him…”  How wonderful would that be? I always imagined that even then.

DSC_0011

20160312_142230

I don’t always have the luxury of time cloud watching clouds since I am working in school for 8 hours (and sometimes more than that) but when I do I always find time to capture their beauty. They are my stress relievers in this stressful, crazy modern world.

Remember, we are humans. We need to rest, relax, and chill. Never let the demands of life overwhelm you. You cannot avoid stress, but there are a lot of ways to combat it.The next time you think about work or life itself and the stress it brings, look up and see the beauty of these heavenly landscapes. Trust me, it will give you inner peace and calm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

